view our practice areas

Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (co)

On June 15, 2012, the Secretary of Homeland Security announced something known as Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals, otherwise known as "DACA." If a person is eligible, he or she may apply for DACA by making an application to Department of Homeland Security. It is a lawful status in the United States which is given for a period of two years and may be renewed. DACA recipients are also granted employment authorization in the United States.

Here are the requirements for DACA:

1. Be physically present in the United States on June 15, 2012;

2. Continuously resided in the United States since June 15, 2007, to the present time;

3. Entered the United States without inspection or your immigration status was expired as of June 15, 2012;

4. Be under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012;

5. Entered the United States before your 16th birthday;

6. Are currently in school, have graduated or obtained a certificate of completion from high school, or have obtained a GED certificate, or are an honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the United States; and

​7. Have not been convicted of a felony, significant misdemeanor, three or more other misdemeanors, and do not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.

If you would to apply for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals, contact an experienced Immigration Lawyer Robert E. Coughlon, Jr. 602-636-0800.

We provide good service and reasonable fees. Oftentimes, we can have deferred action applications filed within days of the first consultation.